Charity of the Year

Each year at the club AGM, Redway Runners holds a vote for members to decide the club ‘Charity of the Year’.

From 1 April 2019, a new rule was added stating that a ‘Charity of the Year’ cannot be nominated or elected Charity of the Year again for the following three years.  This rule came into effect for the 2020/2021 vote.


  • Paid Redway Runners members will be asked for charity nominations through the weekly mail and Facebook page, in advance of the AGM.
  • Nominations must be sent to the club secretary in writing.
  • Nominations will close five working days before the AGM.
  • The nomination should include the charity number and some information about the charity
  • At the AGM the list of charities and the details provided will be reviewed, and the person who nominated the charity, can say a few words about the charity if they wish.
  • The secretary will organise a vote and announce the result.


  • Only registered charities are eligible for nomination – a registered charity number must be provided at the time of nomination.
  • Only paid Redway Runner members can nominate charities and vote at the AGM.
  • A charity can be nominated each year.

Club Charities of the Year

(year ending)

2013 – Social Eyes

2014 – Willen Hospice

2015 – National Deaf Society

2016 – Bravery Boxes

2017 – Hemophilia Society

2018 – MK Hospital Cancer Services

2019 – Henry Allen Trust

2020 – Emily’s Star

2021 – MK Act

2022 – MK Act (due to COVID)

2023 – Willen Hospice

2024 – The Thames Valley Air Ambulance