Club news

Furzton Relay 2021

July 04, 2021 by Martin Lawrence
Frontpage Article, Headlines, News Specials

Fab afternoon at Furzton Relay with the full 50 teams taking part on Saturday 3 July 2021
Final results click here (opens in excel)
Massive thank you to Sheryl and her team of organisers and helpers today for putting on a great event.
The winners where
  • Fastest Male – Lewis McBride 13 mins 49 secs
  • Fastest Female – Wendy Clark 16 mins 20 secs
  • Fastest Team (male) Team Move (team 24)
  • Fastest Team (female) – Alice and the Wonderladies (team 23)
  • Fastest Team (mixed) – GSSR, Great Super Sonic Runners (team 22)
  • Fastest Team (junior) Dream Team (team 48)

But it is not about winning well done to all that took part.

Sheryl the Race Director said ‘For those who came to run, to spectate, to give their time freely, the Furzton Relay of 2021 was a huge success because of you. Thank you sincerely for the part you played in making our day such a resounding event.

Special thanks go to the people who gave and kept giving their time and their smiles – literally, if it wasn’t for these absolute beauts, it could not have happened. Thank you: Bruce Arnold (you never volunteered but you helped with batons, labels, drilling, freely supplying your car and trailer, loading, unloading, putting the event together and then taking it apart and unloading into storage today); Sam Greenwood (key organiser, photographer, carrier and storer extraordinaire); Eoin Tweeddale (key organiser & purveyor of fish & chips); Stephen Scott; (awesome supporter, laminator and holder of all knowledge); Annette Smyth (Committee Goddess and Volunteer Coordinator); Lottey Gates (Supporter, Kindness giver and reader of Risk Assessment); Dom (The Deity) Kingsman (what an absolute God you are, picked up things, delivered things, sorted the timing – the list goes on); Will (timing / technology Hero); David Argent (timing & ubiquitous coordinator); Nathan (the voice) Rutherford (hilarious compère, singer, Diva); Pete Galvin (ubiquitous supporter and compere at the drop of a hat); Simon Navin (lead / tail biker and supporter); Doug Yabsley (Junior teams coordinator); David Huck (EA adjudicator with kindest support and suggestions); Debbie Dickinson and her fabulous team of helpers (charity cake stall coordinator and so so much more); Chris Kingsman (charity coordinator, arranger of deliveries and key supporter); Gareth Snelson (defib lender); Kathryn Dunham (first aider at Race HQ); Robert Whalley (first aider on course, spare marshal, ubiquitous supporter)

The Marshals were brilliant, and, yet again, we give our heartfelt thanks for their time and energy: Sue Waugh; Helen Woodman; Daria Croker; Sue Boothby; Jane Spencer; Maria Chalk; Cedric Brasey; Sarah Brasey; David Rose; Pauline Valentine; Peter Rodwell; Nic Burke; Jan Howard; Bob Austin; Stephen Dunham; Judith Camino; Leyla Currie; Rob Cox; Malcolm Kidby.

At the end of the day, countless people gave up their time to help unpack event shelters and reload them into Bruce’s trailer. If that was you, sincere thanks for all you’ve done to help. To say it’s appreciated, is an understatement of epic proportions.

Thanks to those people who supported us by booking a team, running, smiling and taking the time to thank marshals and volunteers. Thanks also to the spectators who respected the park users, cheered and clapped for everyone and created a celebratory atmosphere throughout.

You are all amazing. We are so thankful.’

Event page click here


January 2022 (7)February 2022 (4)March 2022 (4)April 2022 (5)May 2022 (7)June 2022 (5)July 2022 (4)August 2022 (2)
January 2021 (2)February 2021 (6)March 2021 (6)April 2021 (4)May 2021 (5)June 2021 (6)July 2021 (5)August 2021 (3)September 2021 (3)October 2021 (5)November 2021 (3)December 2021 (7)
January 2020 (4)February 2020 (1)March 2020 (8)April 2020 (15)May 2020 (11)June 2020 (7)July 2020 (5)August 2020 (2)September 2020 (1)October 2020 (3)November 2020 (3)December 2020 (6)
January 2019 (3)February 2019 (1)March 2019 (4)April 2019 (5)May 2019 (2)June 2019 (2)July 2019 (4)August 2019 (4)September 2019 (3)October 2019 (5)November 2019 (3)December 2019 (5)
January 2018 (5)February 2018 (1)March 2018 (6)April 2018 (5)May 2018 (4)June 2018 (6)July 2018 (5)August 2018 (7)September 2018 (6)October 2018 (8)November 2018 (5)December 2018 (3)
January 2017 (7)February 2017 (5)March 2017 (6)April 2017 (3)May 2017 (4)June 2017 (6)July 2017 (8)August 2017 (6)September 2017 (4)October 2017 (8)November 2017 (5)December 2017 (9)
January 2016 (5)February 2016 (1)March 2016 (6)April 2016 (7)May 2016 (1)June 2016 (5)July 2016 (9)August 2016 (11)September 2016 (8)October 2016 (6)November 2016 (9)December 2016 (6)
January 2015 (6)February 2015 (4)March 2015 (2)April 2015 (12)May 2015 (5)June 2015 (1)July 2015 (5)September 2015 (6)October 2015 (6)November 2015 (7)December 2015 (7)
May 2014 (2)June 2014 (4)July 2014 (2)August 2014 (7)September 2014 (9)October 2014 (4)November 2014 (14)December 2014 (7)